So Remind Me

I can’t hardly stand to go back and look at old pictures. It was really making me sad. I can’t believe I’m having that reaction. I thought I was made of a little tougher material. I find myself not even wanting the old pictures up anymore because that’s not me now. But it was me then so I hope I get over wanting to do that.

I have to keep reminding myself what the alternative would have been. Like the surgeon said, What’s the use of being pretty if you’re laying in a casket.

I have to keep reminding myself how close we cut it and how lucky I was that I had it checked when I did. We got it just in the nick of time. Thank you Jesus.

I have to keep reminding myself that there are so many people out there fighting way bigger battles and at least I’m alive.

I have to keep reminding my self that God must surely have a purpose in allowing this in my life and that I can glorify His name through it all.

I have to keep reminding myself that this ugly scar does not define me. It does not control me. It does not represent who I am.

I have to keep reminding myself that if I’m patient, time will make it look better and my Dr. can make it look better.

It just makes me sad to see old pictures. I can’t stand to pass a mirror. Some times I forget it’s there and then I get a rude awakening.

I’m just human 😦 and I’m a lady

 

4 thoughts on “So Remind Me

    • Vickie, time also helps heal and lessen scars…. hopefully the Prostil will help some, but do not feel vain or insecure if you do decide to have a mini facelift later on… many of us have had some sort of plastic surgery to improve things a little. Nothing to be ashamed of there! LOL! I had a big abdominoplasty last November…. not just vanity, I had to get my waist down to pass the Air Force PT test…. still, not medically necessary, but absolutely necessary for me! Love you much!

      • I’m learning everyday that more and more people are doing it. I don’t think I’ll be ashamed because I’m feeling like after all I’ve been through, I’m going to deserve a little reward. I’m not want a big change. I really just want both sides to be the same tightness. I think I probably feel the difference more than people can really see it. Twelve weeks I’ll have to wear the prosil but I’m determined to follow through with it. Thank you for encouraging me. I love you guys too. Hope we get to see you the end of May. I’ll know soon…..

        Xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

